Eliza Gilkyson - Live From Austin, TX [DVD]


This product is currently sold out.

Although Eliza Gilkyson was born in Los Angeles, Texas likes to claim her as one of its own. Maybe it's because her songs have that deeply personal, plaintive, raw quality typical of so many of Texas' best writers. Music is certainly in her blood, being the daughter of folk singer Terry Gilkyson, who penned such classics as "Greenfields," "Marianne," and "Memories are Made of This." She started writing and recording her own songs as a teenager, then moved to New Mexico and raised a family at the end of the Sixties, developing a loyal fan base in the Southwest and Texas. She cut numerous records, and in 1984 made her first appearance on Austin City Limits. 

This show was recorded around the 2000 release of Hard Times In Babylon, which quickly turned into a critical success. The collection of songs, which she describes as "a diary of seasons of love and loss," reveals a uniquely intimate style, shaped by her personal experiences and her need to stay true to her muse. 

Eliza lives in Austin and continues to tell her story as truthfully, melodically and lyrically as she can. 

-Terry Lickona (Producer Austin City Limits®)

  • DVD
  • Remastered in 5.1 DTS surround sound and 2.0 stereo
  • NTSC, Region Free
  • 53 mins


  1. Welcome Back
  2. Hard Times In Babylon
  3. Beauty Way
  4. Coast
  5. Baby's Waking
  6. Easy Rider
  7. Mama's Got A Boyfriend
  8. Fall Into The Night
  9. Engineer Bill
  10. Sanctuary
  11. Love Minus Zero/No Limit

    Recorded August 13, 2001

    * Note: Product images may vary slightly from actual product. Images are for demonstration purposes only.

    Similar Products